AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

U.S. Bank announced two small-business Visa cards on Sept. 28, with cash back on everyday purchases and additional rewards tied to eligible business checking balances. The Plus card has a $295 annual fee and offers 5% cash back in a business’s top spending category, subject to a $200,000 annual limit.

U.S. Bank announced two small-business credit cards on Sept. 28, offering cash back on everyday purchases and additional rewards for eligible customers who also hold a qualifying business checking balance. The launch adds a no-annual-fee option and a $295 annual-fee card with an enhanced rewards structure, as banks compete for small businesses’ spending and banking relationships.

The U.S. Bank Business Essentials Visa Card has no annual fee and offers unlimited 2% cash back on everyday business purchases, according to the bank’s release. Cardholders may receive up to 2.5% total cash back when they pair the card with a qualifying balance in a qualified business checking account. The card also includes Visa Business benefits.

The Business Essentials Plus Visa Signature Card charges a $295 annual fee. It offers unlimited 2% cash back on everyday business purchases, with up to 3.5% total cash back when paired with a qualifying balance in a qualified business checking account. It also offers 5% cash back on the business’s top spending category, up to $200,000 annually, and Visa Signature Business benefits, the release said.

Both cards include a welcome offer, access to U.S. Bank’s Spend Management platform and ExtendPay, which the release describes as a fixed-fee payment plan for large purchases. The announcement did not specify the welcome offer’s value or the payment plan’s terms. U.S. Bank also named actress and entrepreneur Jessica Alba as its small-business spokesperson in a separate release on Monday.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced September 28, 2026
The developmentU.S. Bank introduced two small-business credit cards with cash-back rewards and access to its spending and payment tools.

Rewards Target Business Card Spending

The launch addresses a feature that many small and midsize businesses say matters when selecting a primary card. A PYMNTS Intelligence report cited by PYMNTS found that 35.5% of surveyed businesses said rewards or cash-back features influenced their choice. For 14.1%, rewards were the main reason; another 21.3% said they were important but not the leading factor.

U.S. Bank’s offers combine purchase rewards with a potential benefit for customers who maintain an eligible checking balance. That structure may appeal to businesses already banking with the lender, while the Plus card’s annual fee and top-category reward give prospective customers additional terms to compare. The reported survey figures describe stated preferences; they do not show how many businesses will apply for these cards or whether the products will change their spending.

For owners weighing a card, the headline reward rates do not tell the full cost or return on their own. The checking-linked rates depend on meeting qualification requirements, and the Plus card charges $295 per year. The value to a particular business will depend on its eligible balance, spending mix, the category cap and the full card terms, which were not detailed in the supplied announcement.

U.S. Bank’s Small-Business Push

The cards add to a series of small-business offerings from U.S. Bank. In July, the bank said it introduced Enhanced Payments, a tool intended to help small businesses move money faster. In July 2025, it launched Business Resources Central, a free online hub offering educational material for small businesses.

The new cards extend that activity into business credit and expense management. They pair purchase rewards with access to the bank’s Spend Management platform, while ExtendPay is presented as an option for large purchases. The available source material does not describe how these services work in detail or whether access carries separate requirements.

In her statement, Alba referred to her experience founding The Honest Company in 2012. Her role is promotional: U.S. Bank said she would spotlight the cards as the bank’s small-business spokesperson. Her comments do not provide independent evidence about the cards’ costs, performance or suitability for particular businesses.

„“Our new Business Essentials cards offer small business owners straightforward, easy-to-use benefits that help simplify their spending, banking and expense management.”“

— Courtney Kelso, U.S. Bank’s senior executive vice president of payments, consumer and small business

Eligibility And Pricing Details

The releases summarized in the source do not give the welcome offer amounts, the minimum checking balance required for the higher reward rates, or the full qualification rules. They also do not specify how the cards’ cash-back rewards are calculated, when rewards are paid, or which purchases count toward each category.

For the Plus card, the bank’s announcement states a $200,000 annual limit for 5% cash back in the top spending category, but does not explain whether that limit applies to spending or rewards. The available information also does not include other potential fees, eligibility criteria, application details or the terms of ExtendPay. Those details are needed to compare the cards’ total costs and benefits.

The cited survey reports how respondents described their card-selection priorities. Its figures do not establish demand specifically for U.S. Bank’s new products, and the source does not provide a launch-period application or customer response.

Full Card Terms And Availability

Prospective applicants will need to consult U.S. Bank’s card disclosures and application materials for the full reward rules, checking-balance qualifications, welcome offers, fees and eligibility requirements. The supplied announcement does not state a separate rollout schedule or report whether applications are already being accepted.

Further details from the bank could clarify how the checking-linked rewards are calculated and how the Plus card’s category cap works. Until those terms are available, the release establishes the headline rewards and annual fee but leaves the cards’ complete cost and benefit calculation unresolved.

Key Questions

What cards did U.S. Bank announce?

The bank announced the Business Essentials Visa Card and the Business Essentials Plus Visa Signature Card on Sept. 28, 2026.

What is the annual fee for each card?

The Business Essentials Visa Card has no annual fee. The Business Essentials Plus Visa Signature Card has a $295 annual fee.

How do the cash-back offers differ?

Both cards offer unlimited 2% cash back on everyday business purchases, with higher total rates available alongside a qualifying balance in a qualified U.S. Bank business checking account. The standard card offers up to 2.5% total cash back; the Plus card offers up to 3.5% and 5% cash back in the business’s top spending category, subject to a $200,000 annual limit.

What additional services come with the cards?

Both include a welcome offer, access to U.S. Bank’s Spend Management platform and ExtendPay, described by the bank as a fixed-fee payment plan for large purchases. The announcement did not provide the welcome offer amounts or ExtendPay terms.

What details are still missing?

The available announcement does not state the minimum checking balance for enhanced rewards, full qualification rules, welcome offer values or the complete card fee schedules. Applicants will need the bank’s disclosures for those terms.

Source: rss

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
You May Also Like

The Storm’s Toll On Albany’s Trade And Logistics: Trend Insights

Heavy rain from the Northeast storm impacts Albany’s trade and supply chains, highlighting the need for real-time geopolitical and trade monitoring.

Daily Returns Of Listed Federal Securities Show Variability

Analysis of recent trends in daily returns for federal securities indicates increased volatility, prompting investor attention amid rising market interest.

Bank Of America Advises Hedging Portfolios Ahead Of Potential Q3 S&P 500 Pullback, Warns Of ‚Three-Wave Correction‘

Bank of America advises investors to hedge portfolios amid warnings of a potential three-wave correction and Q3 pullback in the S&P 500.

The Nordics: Protect the Worker, Not the Job

Exploring how Nordic countries prioritize worker security over job preservation, enabling smoother transitions amid automation and economic change.