🔍 Read the full analysis: Will AI Flat Rates Change? The Grok Cost Debate And OpenAI’s New Rules on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
TL;DR
Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably costly relative to revenue, but disclosed no figures or specific change to user limits. OpenAI separately added limits on paid accounts linked to a device or payment card and said some plans will share one ChatGPT-Codex allowance from December. The developments point to more metering within flat-priced plans, not a confirmed end to monthly subscriptions.
Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI introduced new limits on paid ChatGPT accounts linked to devices and payment cards and said some subscribers will share one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. Neither company has announced that its monthly subscription prices are ending; the confirmed changes instead put more emphasis on usage limits and metering.
Musk’s comment came in response to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset, saying that many users had run out of usage quickly that week. Musk provided no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not specify whether xAI had changed the bot’s limits, pricing or reset schedule. His statement referred to Grok Bot, the agent, rather than Grok chat generally.
According to xAI’s pricing information cited by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, Grok Bot is included in the Premium, Super and Ultra X Subscription tiers, priced at $30, $100 and $200 a month, respectively. Its use draws on a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and xAI models in the Cursor coding tool. xAI says usage depends on agent steps, tokens and the work a task requires, rather than simply the number of messages.
OpenAI’s help pages say paid ChatGPT accounts are subject to limits on how many can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one payment card or device. The policy applies to Go, Plus and Pro plans, but OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds. The company also says that from December, Plus, Pro and Business users will draw from one shared, token-measured allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats will remain outside that allowance, according to the source report.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Subscription Prices Meet Usage Meters
The developments matter because a monthly price does not necessarily mean a subscriber can use every feature without practical limits. Agent tasks may involve many steps and tokens, making their computing costs different from those of a short chat response. A shared allowance can also mean that using more of one service leaves less capacity for another included service.
For customers, the distinction is between the price of access and the amount or type of use included. The source report says OpenAI’s rate card gives its most capable model an output-token allowance cost about 100 times faster than its cheapest model. That comparison concerns the rate card’s token usage, not a general measure of a user’s bill or a published estimate of provider costs.
For businesses, the shift makes usage terms and monitoring relevant to budgeting. A seat fee may not be enough to forecast costs when teams use agents or different models at varying rates. The reported changes support treating allowances as part of subscription terms; they do not establish that all providers are moving to one pricing model or that monthly plans will disappear.
Popular right now

Dreame H12 Pro Wet and Dry Vacuum Mop

Apple AirPods Max 2 Wireless Over-Ear Headphones – Midnight

Ninja Foodi Air Fryer, 8 Qt DualZone, 6-in-1, Grey, DZ201
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Week of Different OpenAI Changes
The Grok Bot comment followed a user’s report that usage had run out quickly, but Musk did not confirm what had caused that experience or whether a limit had recently changed. xAI’s published explanation says the speed at which Grok Bot uses its pool depends on the task. That makes the pool a variable usage allowance within a flat monthly subscription, rather than a fixed number of messages.
OpenAI’s announcements in the same week included changes in both directions. On Oct. 29, OpenAI staff member Thibault Sottiaux posted that usage limits would be doubled for Pro tiers and Business Premium. OpenAI’s release notes, as described by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, specify a doubling of Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500 and the cancellation of a planned reduction for Pro 200. These changes increase or preserve some allowances; they do not negate the separate account-linking rules or December shared meter.
OpenAI previously introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024. The following month, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users were using them more than expected. That earlier statement is historical context, not proof of current losses or the reason for the latest OpenAI policy changes.
„The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.“
— Elon Musk, on X, Nov. 1, 2026
Limits and Costs Still Undisclosed
Musk did not say how much Grok Bot costs xAI to serve, how much revenue it generates, or what prompted his comment. He also did not announce a new limit, price or reset policy. The user’s report that usage ran out quickly is an account of user experience, not a published measurement of a system-wide change.
The source report says other outlets attributed a post to Grok’s official account that referred to adjusted allocations and a dashboard fault. Its author said they could not locate the post, so those details remain reported but unverified here. OpenAI has not published the numerical device and card thresholds, and its shared allowance rules are due to begin in December. The report does not provide the full token allowance figures for each affected plan.
Watch December Allowance Details
The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s planned start of the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance in December. Subscribers will need the plan-specific allowance information and usage page to understand how activity across the two products is counted. OpenAI has not disclosed the device and card thresholds in the cited help material.
For Grok Bot, further clarity depends on xAI explaining whether it changed allocations or plans to change prices, resets or access. Until the company provides those details, Musk’s post confirms a concern about costs relative to revenue, not a particular adjustment or a broader end to flat-rate AI subscriptions.
Key Questions
Did Musk announce a Grok Bot price increase or new usage limit?
No. Musk said serving Grok Bot was unsustainably costly relative to revenue, but announced no price change, new limit or reset policy.
Which ChatGPT plans are covered by OpenAI’s device and card limits?
The help information described in the source report covers Go, Plus and Pro. OpenAI has not published the numerical account or subscription thresholds.
What changes for ChatGPT and Codex in December?
OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one shared, token-measured allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. The source report says Unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter.
Are AI flat-rate subscriptions ending?
The cited announcements do not show that monthly subscriptions are ending. They show usage limits and shared allowances within some plans, alongside flat monthly prices.
What remains unknown about Grok Bot’s costs?
xAI has not provided figures for Grok Bot’s serving costs, revenue or margins in the cited material. Musk’s post also does not identify what, if anything, changed in user allocations.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com